Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:51 pm - July 18, 2004
I am the Rocky of the kitchen!
I am a culinary goddess.

So. Ahem. I'm teaching myself to cook. Some attempts are good, my cheesy biscuits, creamed spinach, anything relating to pasta. Some attempts are, erm... leaving something to be desired. (They shall remain nameless.)

The main thing I struggle with is meats. I have a slight suspicion that I'm a vegetarian at heart, and it only shows itself when I try to cook raw meat. Which is the soul of irony, considering my love for the sushi. Or maybe not irony exactly, but I digress... Maybe it's the similarity to my own flesh that grosses me out. Nonetheless, it's a struggle. But I've pushed myself and evolved and now can sling raw ground meats with finesse. The swedish meatballs were pretty good, if a little labor-intensive. And artery-clogging. I just thought, why scrimp, let's go whole-hog--real cream, butter, etc. I'm a wild woman, playing fast and loose with diets everywhere. (Especially my own. Please, almighty, don't let my metabolism let me down for at least the next few years...)

So. The reason for today's enthusiasm.

I COOKED RAW CHICKEN ALL BY MYSELF!!! I de-fatted it and pounded it and everything! And I didn't yark! Yay me on just that count!

I made Chicken Kiev from scratch for G-ma, except I substituted Havarti dill cheese for the butter that gets rolled up inside. I so felt like Emeril. Except it took me 3 hours instead of the 30mins it was supposed to. Whatever. It was good. (Choirs of angels burst into song) G-ma said it was great! (I also did garlic mashers, as usual, and green snap-beans--easy standbys)

So. I'm proud of myself. Something else accomplished. Next up, Chicken Marsala. Wish me luck.

***

Wil? I am becomming very worried. I don't understand why I can't get ahold of you. I love you and if you need me, you know I'm always here for you. But at least drop this one a line...

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!