Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:22 pm - December 20, 2005
Alice in Purgatory
Golly, is it really that time of year again? The time to head back to the ole homestead and bond in happy camraderie with people I share genes with?

Holy eff.

The weeks leading up to the visit were chaotic at best, arranging for companions for G-ma, food deliveries, dog walkers for the cutest dog in the universe, etc. Dealing with insane friends (one dropped me because I couldn't go to a concert with her when G-ma wasn't feeling well after her last injection). Yaaaaaay, I've got mail!

Dear deareddie,
Yes, the world really does have it in for you. Get used to it, loser.
Love, Higher Power

But, I walked off that plane and whew, the tension melted off. There were my two cute little parents, smiling, and looming brother Bear, scowling as he is wont to do. (Hey, don't knock the familiar. I'm used to it.)

And I thought, Charlie Brown, everything's gonna be fine.

***

Hahahahahahahhahahahahahaha! Really, whenever I do something that stupid, I wish it would be accompanied by ominous music. Someone needs to turn up the volume on my inner soundtrack. I might as well have said "It couldn't get any worse, at least it's not raining!"

So, Dad's retired, and seriously manic depressive. Mom's working, all the time, mostly to be away from the house where Dad's discovered the wonder and beauty of Jerry Springer and Dr. Laura. And brother Bear hates the world. Not in a funny Marvin the robot sort of way, but in a viscious, cringe when I walk into the room sort of way. Something about graduating from college and having no direction or something. I don't know. He's not much with the talking about...er...anything.

I've been reincarnated as a combination of Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm, Corkie Sherwood from Murphy Brown, and the guy from "Airplane!" who says "I picked a bad day to quit intravenous drugs."

I want a pizza, a beer, a shot of tequila and a cigarette. Er, make that multiple cigarettes. Sigh. Everyone needs a dream.

PS. I miss Brownie. It's going to be tough hanging out with his sister tomorrow night.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!