Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:17 pm - April 30, 2009
World of Tomorrow
�� Hello, hello, hello to you!

�� Yesterday, with a loud boom, the electric transformer near our house caught on fire just after DH had left for work in the mid-afternoon. (That sounds bad, but also envision the lovely linesmen cavorting around in hard hats and climbing gear that came to fix it.) Power was shut off for roughly 8 hours, until just after midnight.

�� Now, during the afternoon and early evening, this was fine. I sat on our lovely patio reading one of my supernatural adventure stories and enjoyed the view. But my beloved Boise is not known for lovely warm spring evenings, so as the sun went down, the chill chased me indoors. It was striking how silent everything was-- it hadn't occurred to me that we don't even own a non-electric clock. (hmm, spooky influence of my book, perhaps? ;) ) But as the light dimmed further, I lit candles in the living room and realized that nearly every activity I like to do in the evening requires electricity. Reading or knitting by candlelight isn't as charming as you might imagine when described by Jane Austen. Cooking was out-- we have an electric stove. As were the obvious tv, radio, computer and game system. And my cel phone, my adopted appendage, I had neglected to charge during the day, so was only useful as a paperweight. (You might ask why I didn't just take a bubble bath by candlelight, but I was sufficiently creeped out by the dark at that point to avoid getting naked in it. You might as well ask why I didn't investigate that strange noise in the basement while wearing a sheer negligee.)

�� Instead, I sat on the couch and watched the new electric pole being installed and thought about things. It's very easy, when seeing clothing designs from another era, to say "Oh, I wish I'd been born then!" The lovely hemlines and hairstyles, charming ideas of chivelry and respect... Swoon-worthy. I just wouldn't be able to stand it. I love supermarkets and drive-through eateries, dvd players and computers, Target and cars and microwaves and tampons. (Tampons, really. G-ma has mentioned what sort of things she has had to use when she was a girl in the 20's and 30's, and it's appalling.) Telephones and cel phones, frozen pizza and pizza delivery people (especially the ones who will bring beer or wine-- an awesome indulgence!) The ball-point pen! The dishwasher! THE FLUSH TOILET.

�� I rhapsodize far from eloquently, but goodness, how can I not. I just love being a Jetson's kind of woman. And now, if you'll excuse me, I'm going to go nuke some popcorn and watch a Netflix while enjoying my comfy stretchy yoga pants that I washed in our washing machine this morning. Maybe I'll even whip out the blender for some afternoon daquiris. ;)

  Update, slightly later: I decided to catch up with my diary reading, so am listening to Patty Griffin's "Children Running Through" while wearing DearHusband's huge fluffy robe and drinking tea made on my lovely working stove. ;) I really think you (yes, all of you) would like this cd, if you don't already have it you should request it from your library and think of me while listening to track #6, Heavenly Day.

Love and hugs!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!