Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:48 am - December 28, 2005
We're shallow today. Deal.
So, tonight I return to Boise. Mom cried last night just thinking about it. As intense as this visit was, I really will miss them a whole lot. I'm actually thinking about coming back in June if I can get a decent flight, for my Dad's birthday. (That may or may not have anything to do with my mom getting tickets for Phantom of the Opera at the Fox Theatre in St. Louis. I never claimed not to be an opportunist. It's a kick-ass theatre.) Some might say I'm a glutton for punishment. I prefer to think of it as giving myself something to complain, er, write about.

Last night, as one of my brother's Christmas presents, we all went to Ryan's for dinner. (If you don't have a Ryan's near you, you're missing out. It's a buffet-all-you-can-eat-steak place.) It was worth it on two levels.
One: the steak was good. I am a steak fiend, as I've never quite figured out how to cook it for myself. To be honest, I just don't want to screw up a nice piece of meat.
Two: There's something so inherently American about seeing really, really large people eating unlimited quantities of meat and potatoes and cake and ice cream. It's mesmerizing. The many, many trips to the buffet, plates piled high with meat products...Yeah. (Oh, right, the point...) We are so blessed to live in a society where food is so available. It's difficult to think there are people elsewhere who are starving. Also, generally, I don't make it to All-You-Can-Eat restaraunts. It's a fascinating social observation opportunity, when I do, though.

On the (long) drive home, we had one of those weird conversations that seems to jump around and hit totally unrelated topics. As in, our secret love and awe for Walmart turned into a discussion on how scary possums are. Seriously. Those little things with thier scaly tails, beady red eyes, sharp teeth and that freaky hissing? Ugh. I really don't like 'em. Possums and clowns, Eugh.

***

Arrrgh...My mom just discovered that I have a d-land journal. She's so cute when she's looking sneaky and planning on looking me up and reading me. Heh. Guess I'd better not talk about Airplane Guy, whom I've been dating the past two months.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!