Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:35 pm - December 06, 2004
Captain Planet Crusades Again!
So, I've started an actual, physical journal. Well, not exactly started, more like...have written in it recently in consecutive days as opposed to consecutive years.

And I find that it says a lot about me to compare the two. (For those a step behind, that would be this journal that you're reading now vs. the physical paper one.)

It says I hold up much better in pixels on a computer screen than in actual handwriting. I believe what my handwriting says about me is something along the lines of "unibomber"
*sigh*

So I come back to the mother-country, the Diaryland. I forsake the beautiful, satin-covered and beaded journal.

***

But what I really wanted to talk about today is the word "slut." You er, read that right, I wrote SLUT. There's been a lot recently about reclaiming derogatory words towards women, like b*tch or the c-word. And I'm pretty sure I know what those two mean. But no one seems to have a good answer for hard-and-fast rules on the definition of a slut. Some tips I've gotten: If a girl has sex with a guy the first time she meets him, then she is a slut. Also, apparently, there's some kind of foggy connection between numbers of sex partners and slut-status. But that's amorphous at best, there not actually being an actual number. There is also a proviso regarding if there is love involved, although it doesn't specify on whose part. Confusing conundrums! If anyone reads this and feels like weighing in, leave me a note.

(aside)I'm starting to wonder if maybe it might just be a word designed to diminish a woman or girl into a thing, not a person-- not having any actual meaning and being merely a slur. A quandry indeed!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!