Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:21 am - October 22, 2004
Electric Sliding.
I am so effing weird.

I've never been much for all those crazy dating terms, thinking that to differentiate between "dating" and "seeing each other" and "going out" and "hanging out" was just a great steaming pile of, well, um, whatever. I feel like people who insist on regulating semantics are just weirdly insecure and incapable of being honest with themselves about their own feelings.

So. Hawk (what he prefers to be called here--though I might also refer to him as MSP, or My Sweet Patootie) and I have been spending a lot of time together lately. He's strange and funny and doesn't mind dancing around his room at 2am to Jamiroquai (sp?) so we can rock the sock slides together. He's a reader, so I've been getting some fun new author referrals. And he gets scared by Doom III and needs frequent cuddle breaks to keep from freaking out. So, yeah, I'm having fun.

And then an evil demon prompted me to throw out the "Are you doing the sock slide with anyone, er, else?"

Yeah.

I was cool.

But I was treated to a discourse on erm, taking things slow, how he just got out of a relationship just a little while ago, how he doesn't like to label things....Uh, Yeah.

It so made me want to bounce back with something like "We need to talk." or "It's not you, it's me.", or "I have to wash my hair."

There was a close moment, there.

Thankfully, the sports announcer that inhabits my brain yelled "HE'S SAFE!, HE'S IN THE CLEAR, FOLKS!" because Hawk did a quick follow-up with "I'm only sock-sliding with you. And I'm not looking for anyone else to sock-slide with. I'm a one-woman sock-slider."

***
Note: For those of you with really dirty minds, like me, this conversation really mostly is about sliding around on wood floors like Jamiroquai or Michael Jackson. All vague sexual undertones are just in your head, perv.
***

So that was nice. But now I'm a little weirded out by having gotten The Boy Speech from someone so early in. And now I feel like some bizarre relationship pusher for having gotten the speech. And I don't like it.

He should know that I get to play the role of the commitment-wary, emotionally scarred but still sensitive one. Not him.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!