Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:37 pm - September 15, 2004
Line 'em up, bartender.
I'd really like to be Myrna Loy in a movie for a while. Her real life wasn't very happy, but I've already got THAT part covered all on my own, thankyouverymuch.

But maybe in a movie with William Powell or Clark Gable. I could do that for a little while, I think. To always have a lovely snappy, funny, intelligent thing to say? To know that you'll end the day being kissed thoroughly by your leading man? Friends whereever you go? That seems just fine to me.

If you're ever in an old movie mood, (very good for rainy afternoons, might I add...) try Test Pilot (what I'm watching right now) or Too Hot To Handle or Manhattan Melodrama or one of the Thin Man movies. Hell, try all of the Thin Man movies, they're great.

TCM is doing September as Myrna Loy month, so if you've got cable, try and catch a couple.

***

Can you tell that I'm restless again? I've been reading diaries for the last two hours or so. It's kind of fun to diary-jump, go from one person to another of their favourites to the next. Except you feel like you know all these people who have no idea of your existance.

I've noticed that so many of us are lonely. We feel like no one understands us, we pretend to be happy and "normal" to everyone in our lives. And then we come here to write about being sad and lonely and feeling dead inside and worthless and never going to amount to anything.

Strikes me a kind of funny, really. Here, we "know" so many people who know intimately that dark sinking feeling, that lead weight suspended by hooks to our soul. And yet there's so much aloneness...

Bah, I'm thinking too much. Been spending too much time inside my own head lately. Maybe this weekend I'll try to cram some time in for a laugh between work. I guess I'm just on a downswing.

***

To close, I send you this blessing: May you all have a day like Myrna Loy in a movie sometime soon. And go find out what that means!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!